Translate

Wednesday, August 7, 2013

August 8, 2013 (Japan) --but--August 7, 2013 (USA) I Should have..

written more...
But now I am back officially in the states. (now in Cali)
So ... reminiscing... and way to many things. Before leaving had to do so many things in what seems like not enough time. I am so thankful that God provided every step of the way (He is so faithful <3).
It is so sad, it is so weird to be back, I already feel it. The communication differences, greetings, help. All of the above. It carries an air of nostalgia and at the same time makes me miss Japan. I am so thankful.
My friends in Japan ( Cherry, Pat, and Yen, Natsuki too ) helped me off until the very end <3 I am so thankful for them. I am so sad to say goodbye, but I am thankful that I got to be with Yen on her Birthday, even though.... :( ... I couldn't do anything special for her :(! I really wanted to... but.. it didn't end up or work out that way. I feel so selfish. This past semester so selfish. I don't know who I am becoming if it stays like this. I am cared for so much, so I begin to forget to care for others. WHATT ..... another area of growth. How to be humble and accept others care, BUTTTTT... care in return and love to the fullest.
Food for thought?
it is funny I keep catching myself saying Japanese phrases to Americans.... thinking that they understand.. but... I forget that they don't.... sigh
So the reverse culture shock begins?
I had the pre stages in Japan when I was thinking about it... dreaming about it.. but now.. its face to face. I like America for some things.. same with Japan... but sometimes... hmm
The kids are so different here... They keep repeating themselves till they get what they want...
I am so not used to that anymore. Usually I don't see kids ask for things in Japan, usually they are asked if they want something, but not the other way around.
When I went shopping with the kids as itsukushimi, they joked a lot about "lets buy"... this or that... but when I asked if they really wanted it... they always replied with we don't need it.. no. "iranai".
Clothes are so different in the us also, even high class dress more casually then even normal students everyday in class.. :O . So surprised.

Ok, so on the plain ride back, it was really cool because I was with a kind Japanese lady Masayako Nakumura-san ! It was really cool we watched movies together and talked and ate and helped each other out with things. (Asian style of doing things together) Gonna miss it. It is so funny because the first ones to teach me to do things together was Sunyoung and Yurim <3 ! Miss them a lot too!!!

Dun Dadadan! ... To be continued